Book Reviews · Self-Help · TBR

The Life-Chaning Magic of Tidying Up and A Little About Me

22318578.jpg

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

by Marie Kondo

Synopsis:

This guide to decluttering your home from Japanese cleaning consultant Marie Kondo takes readers step-by-step through her revolutionary KonMari Method for simplifying, organizing, and storing.

Despite constant efforts to declutter your home, do papers still accumulate like snowdrifts and clothes pile up like a tangled mess of noodles?

Japanese cleaning consultant Marie Kondo takes tidying to a whole new level, promising that if you properly simplify and organize your home once, you’ll never have to do it again. Most methods advocate a room-by-room or little-by-little approach, which doom you to pick away at your piles of stuff forever. The KonMari Method, with its revolutionary category-by-category system, leads to lasting results. In fact, none of Kondo’s clients have lapsed (and she still has a three-month waiting list).

With detailed guidance for determining which items in your house “spark joy” (and which don’t), this book featuring Tokyo’s newest lifestyle phenomenon will help you clear your clutter and enjoy the unique magic of a tidy home—and the calm, motivated mindset it can inspire.

My Review:

When I was younger, my mom always kept a ‘tidy’ home. And oftentimes when I would get stressed, it was usually because things weren’t in order. I remember a specific time in high school, right after I had decided to leave boarding school for a school back home, everything was a mess.I didn’t even have one day when I got home and going straight from one school and into another, the next day, wasn’t easy. And I had no ‘time’.  After having a whole dorms worth move back into my room at home, my room was a total mess. The worst part; I left it like that…For months.

The hardest part of it all was transferring during winter break, my junior year. I had already established a life in boarding school with all of my friends, so coming home I felt like I had to start over. Which I will say added to the stress. So a few months into the new semester, I decided that I didn’t want to go to school one day. I wouldn’t get out of bed, I told my mom I was sick. And she said, “okay”. Not even an hour later, my mom stormed into my room with big black trash bags, storage containers, and labels. (my mom loves to label.)

I wish this book was around back then.

“To truly cherish the things that are important to you, you must first discard those that have outlived their purpose.”

Now look, I know that you are probably thinking, ‘I already keep things tidy and neat, why do I need to read a book about it?’. Well… Let me tell you why.

In college, I really learned to organize, and plan. A lot. Everything had a place and everything was in perfect order. That is until Dylan and I moved in together. Suddenly, there were socks on the floor, practically a whole closets worth of clothes that weren’t mine, and dishes/mugs/silverware for days. There was this new person living with me that was messing up my order!

After reading this book, tidying seems like a whole lot more than just a chore. And I truly do believe that when a home is in order, or closer to it, it can really eliminate stress in life. Personally, it works for me. (I understand that it isn’t for everybody, but everybody is different and that’s ok!). Marie Kondo really makes tidying up an art form. And not just because she tells you how. She also tells you why. Which I love.

This book is easy to read, and feels like a friend is just giving you some advice. The steps are easy and remember, YOU DON’T HAVE TO GET RID OF ANYTHING YOU DON’T WANT TO. This is merely a woman who is sharing her passion and work of tidying and keeping things organized and what has truly worked for her. And her clients. But if it isn’t for you, it isn’t for you. There is no shame in that.

I really like this book and I enjoy having it on my shelf. It reminds me of my mom and all the advice she gave me growing up about keeping a home. If you are a planner and organizer fanatic like me, this book is for you.

♥♥♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

