Book Reviews

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

22609317.jpg

Luckiest Girl Alive

by Jessica Knoll

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Synopsis:
HER PERFECT LIFE
IS A PERFECT LIE.

As a teenager at the prestigious Bradley School, Ani FaNelli endured a shocking, public humiliation that left her desperate to reinvent herself. Now, with a glamorous job, expensive wardrobe, and handsome blue blood fiancé, she’s this close to living the perfect life she’s worked so hard to achieve.

But Ani has a secret.

There’s something else buried in her past that still haunts her, something private and painful that threatens to bubble to the surface and destroy everything.

With a singular voice and twists you won’t see coming, Luckiest Girl Alive explores the unbearable pressure that so many women feel to “have it all” and introduces a heroine whose sharp edges and cutthroat ambition have been protecting a scandalous truth, and a heart that’s bigger than it first appears.

The question remains: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for—or, will it at long last, set Ani free?

My Review:

** Should only be read by mature readers. I would not suggest reading this at a younger age. Very strong themes.**

Did anyone else not know where this one was going? I picked this book up because SO many people told me that I just had to read it. And by the time I actually got around to it, I had heard so many great things. But other than that, I really didn’t know what to expect. Other than the fact that the book itself was written so well that it ropes you in, the characters are the perfect, complex ones you want to read about. The story was well developed and the back and forth between times was pretty perfect/easy to follow.

Ani threw me off a bit. Mainly because she was so aloof. Like 100% of the time. But after reading and reading and not knowing why, BOOM! the reason hits you. And it hits you HARD. Because if you are like me, you didn’t really know what to expect. Like I said, I knew NOTHING about this book, other than the fact that it was great. Honestly, if I had known what it was about, I probably wouldn’t have read it. Though I am very glad I did.

The rushed ending really bothered me. It made no sense to me why Ani got so mad at Luke for taking the picture. I mean, I understand, but I think it was too much build up for such a rush ending. It left me wanting more. But since the book has such strong themes and tackles two very real issues today… It is almost hard for me to say it felt rushed.

I thought this book was great. Even with the rushed ending. However, it finds a way to really truly grab you and not let go. Even after the last page.

I totally recommend this book.

♥♥♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

