Book Reviews

No One Knows by J.T. Ellison

25814204.jpg

No One Knows

by J.T. Ellison

Publisher: Gallery Books

Synopsis:
In an obsessive mystery as thrilling as The Girl on the Train and The Husband’s SecretNew York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison will make you question every twist in her page-turning novel—and wonder which of her vividly drawn characters you should trust.

The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on; she wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious yet strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?

In No One Knows, the New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Nicholas Drummond series expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. This masterful thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins will pull readers into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows.

My Review:

With lines like…

“Five years of After. Five years of waiting.”
“All the state cared about was the cold hard facts: one thousand eight hundred and seventy-five days ago, Joshua David Hamilton disappeared from the face of this earth..”

how could you not be hooked?  I have been in a little reading slump lately, because I feel like the past few that I have read let me down. Like really let me down. But my TBR is growing and growing and growing. So I picked up another and started reading. There is bound to be a great one in the pile.

And boy was I right.

No One Knows is about Aubrey Hamilton. A wife who’s husband goes missing. And then is declared dead because obviously they didn’t find him. (I am not giving spoilers to anything, this is how the beginning starts.) They were both invited to a wedding, so they both go to the parties and then Aubrey finds out Josh is nowhere to be found. And that no one has seen him.

Good start, right?

When she knew in her heart things were never going to be okay again.”

Well as she continues to find out that Josh really wasn’t there, the panic really begins to set in. And it is at this moment where you are fully hooked (around chapter 4 or 5). I don’t want to give too much of the story away. But with a missing husband, an annoying and hateful Mother-in-law, this book makes for one exciting read.

One of the first things I noticed was the the writing flowed. Well. It was easy to follow and the story meshed together. So you weren’t reading awkward sentences. So it can be said that it started off well. Another thing, the chapters, though they jump to different times, were easy to follow as well. One bad thing I have to say, was though I liked the writing style, there were still some things that could have been tweaked here and there. The writing did flow so the flashbacks were bearable. However, I personally don’t like when it’s excessive. Perhaps because I like reading in the present.

Chase- This is where I had a hard time connecting. And I think overall where it just started to lose some of my interest. It was all just not as detailed as I would have liked and the pieces didn’t always seem to fit. Which is why I consider it a good thriller, and not a great one. The last few chapters lost me a bit too. Especially the thrillers that rush their endings.

Overall, I really enjoyed the read. The disappearance was well written. The sense of thrill was good. Read this book. This is an example of a good thriller. If you are looking for something as good as Gone Girl and The Girl On The Train, keep looking. This one definitely can’t compare to those. However, it is still a good thriller. Just don’t compare it to great ones.

♥♥♥♥

**Full disclosure- I received this as a review copy and want to express that all my opinions are my own**

2 thoughts on “No One Knows by J.T. Ellison

  1. I didn’t read your review this time because I’m reading this book right now. Funny that we are reading the same ones! When I finish, I’ll read yours if you read mine, and we can discuss!

    Like

Leave a Reply

