Book Reviews

It Starts With Food by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig

It Starts With Food.jpg

It Starts With Food

by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig

I loved the Whole30 program and the place I started was the It Starts With Food.

The Whole30 program is basically a Paleo Diet. And it is more of a cleanse than a diet. But a healthy cleanse that lasts 30 days. The program is really all about natural foods and eating your veggies. To make this review a little easier, here are my pros and cons:

Pros:

Eating Veggies! -You really realize how much better your body feels when you are eating your veggies.

Energy! – At first, you feel like your energy is down, but that is when your body is rebooting. After the first week, you will be surprised how much energy you have.

Sleeping was a lot easier! – I actually got a good nights rest.

You learn how to create a healthy lifestyle! – I really felt that this program was less of a diet and more of a self-taught course on health. However, I wouldn’t stick directly to this plan for long term.

Cons:

Spending half your grocery store trip reading labels. – I would easily spend like 2 hours trying to read labels on everything I was buying.

Eating the same thing got boring. – One of the biggest problems I had was how repetitive everything was. I got so tired of eating eggs (for example).

The only reason I can’t give this program/book 5 hearts, is because thought I think it kickstarts your journey to health, I don’t really like it as a whole. Meaning for the rest of your life. But if you are looking for a great way to kickstart your healthy lifestyle, It Starts With Food is a great start!

♥♥♥

And their cookbook!

Whole30.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “It Starts With Food by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig

    1. Overall, the Whole30 is a great starting point and really helps establish a good sense of healthy eating. But in the long run, it’s not to great. At least it wasn’t for me. However, it’s a great way to kickstart health and wellness!

      Like

Leave a Reply

