Book Reviews

White Girl Problems by Babe Walker

12413949.jpg

White Girl Problems

by Babe Walker

Synopsis:
Babe Walker, center of the universe, is a painstakingly manicured white girl with an expensive smoothie habit, a proclivity for Louboutins, a mysterious mother she’s never met, and approximately 50 bajillion Twitter followers. But her “problems” have landed her in shopping rehab–that’s what happens when you spend $246,893.50 in one afternoon at Barneys. Now she’s decided to write her memoir, revealing the gut-wrenching hurdles she’s had to overcome in order to be perfect in every way, every day. Hurdles such as: – I hate my horse.
– Every job I’ve ever had is the worst job I’ve ever had.
– He’s not a doctor, a lawyer, or a prince.
– I’ll eat anything, as long as it’s gluten-free, dairy-free, low-carb, low-fat, low-calorie, sugar-free, and organic.
In an Adderall-induced flash of inspiration, Babe Walker has managed to create one of the most enjoyable, unforgettable memoirs in years.

My Review:

Don’t expect much from this book and don’t take it seriously. Because it isn’t. In an nutshell this book is about the rich, ritzy life of Babe Walker.

White Girl Problems, though a little far-fetched and a bit extreme, reminds me of a few people from back home (Los Angeles). I picked this book up for the plane on my way home from visiting family. Hoping that it would be quick and light. From the first few pages, I already knew that I would have mixed feelings about this book.

In terms of Babe, herself, if their goal was to paint her as neurotic, self-absorbed, shallow… they NAILED it. She was nothing short of obnoxious. But I think that is a bit of the charm surrounding her character. You sort of have to fall in love with Babe and her insane ways of living. In terms of the actual story, they did a good job making her life seem a bit too unbelievable and crazy. There were definitely parts where I did have a good laugh. But did slow down and drag on at points. However, the book as a whole was really entertaining and worth the read if you like reading ridiculous and random things.

**I think the biggest problem is that most people, when picking up this book, don’t realize that it is NOT true. So if you decide to pick up this book, keep in mind that there is no truth to it whatsoever. **

Overall, I am giving this book 3 out of 5. I went in knowing it would be completely ridiculous and I loved it for that reason. However, it did lack a bit of consistency in the humor department. I would definitely classify this book as mindless and should be read as a beach read. Or on a plane ride where you won’t feel bad about not being able to finish it.

♥♥♥

 

Leave a Reply

