Book Reviews

Matched, Crossed, and Reached by Ally Condie

7735333.jpg  15812814.jpg  13125947.jpg

Matched, Crossed, and Reached

by Ally Condie

Synopsis:
In the Society, officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.

Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one…until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow—between perfection and passion.

My Review:

I really wanted to like these books. The concept is awesome, but is much like other ‘more popular novels’ (my opinion) that have more credibility.

Cassia annoyed me. She really really annoyed me. And the romance between characters was kind of stupid teen ridiculousness that drove me mad by the time I finished these books. Which I will be honest, I almost didn’t. They seemed to drag on and on, and in terms of imagery, there was none. I felt like I was barely able to paint a picture in my mind.

Overall, I wouldn’t recommend this trilogy and I am not going to waste my time thoroughly reviewing it. I do feel however that something needs to be said and people need to be warned. But if you like dumb, teen love mixed with a repetitive dystopian theme then by all means, read away.

♥♥

9 thoughts on “Matched, Crossed, and Reached by Ally Condie

  1. I concur. I only made it through the first book. I absolutely detest the YA trend of always always always setting things up where some girl has to decide between the passionate-hot-lover-bad-boy-of-awesomeness and the pretty-but-utterly-boring-perfect-in-every-way-except-attraction guy. To be honest, its been a few years since I read the first book, so I can’t remember if the love triangle boils down exactly that way. Good review 🙂 In the future, don’t hold your rantiness back. Go for it 😉

    Like

    1. I had to push through the second and third book. But I did it for the sake of just finishing what I started. Overall, I almost feel that these books are just so repetitive and sometimes it can be hard to find a good one! Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish I did give up. I almost felt like it a was a waste of my time. But as much as it took my time to read it, it took the authors time to write it. So always try and finish them. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. haha well the other reason I do is if I spent money on it- if not, I’ll just think forget it. And if you put the effort in you want to get something out of it. Also, a little part of me often thinks “but maybe this’ll get good”. Unfortunately that’s only happened twice- ever

        Like

      2. I think I hope for better. Like I expect it to just magically be amazing and perfect… then I get to the end and wonder why I even bought the thing. But to each their own, some like those types of books.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

