Book Reviews

The Firm by John Grisham

The Firm.jpg

The Firm

by John Grisham

Publisher: Addison Wesley Publishing Company

Synopsis:
When Mitch McDeere signed on with Bendini, Lambert & Locke of Memphis, he thought that he and his beautiful wife, Abby, were on their way. The firm leased him a BMW, paid off his school loans, arranged a mortgage, and hired the McDeeres a decorator. Mitch should have remembered what his brother Ray–doing fifteen years in a Tennessee jail–already knew: You never get nothing for nothing. Now the FBI has the lowdown on Mitch’s firm and needs his help. Mitch is caught between a rock and a hard place, with no choice–if he wants to live.

My Review:

There are so many things that I would like to say about The Firm, but I also don’t want to give anything away. Normally, I don’t really like reading thrillers that have to do with business, stock market, law firms, etc… Not too sure why, but normally they have a hard time of holding my interest. But my mom raved about this book for years, so two years ago, I picked up this book and have since read it twice.

The best part about this book are the characters. I feel that Grisham really took the time to make each character believable. In the sense that you can totally picture them in your mind. Mitch McDeere is extremely likable which, I feel, makes a book easier to read.

There was only one part of the book that I didn’t particularly care for… The part about his brother Ray. I know that it does tie into the story but at the same time, I feel like it would have been a thriller just the same if Grisham were to tweak it to not include the brother. I just didn’t find it necessary.

In my opinion this book is definitely not your typical thriller. It is definitely not fast paced. (It is a little longer than I thought it was). But John Grisham’s The Firm is one you should definitely put on your TBR list.

So I know this review is short, and there isn’t much to it. (I don’t want to give anything away. But trust me on this.) Read The Firm. It is a great read.

♥♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

