Book Reviews

You by Caroline Kepnes

You.jpg

You

by: Caroline Kepnes

Publisher: Atria

 Synopsis:

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.
There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.
As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

My Review:

 Originally, I think I bought this book because of the cover. I shouldn’t be judging by the cover, but I am human. Don’t hate me. But after reading the description, I couldn’t wait to read it.

After reading the dust jacket, I honestly thought so differently of the book. Then I began to read it. It was weird at first and I didn’t really like the characters much, but the POV the book was written in, intrigued me. The POV was from Joe, the stalker/killer and he was obsessed with Beck.

Joe is an obsessed psychopath. However, it seems that Kepnes made him, almost, desirable. Not for the psycho, stalker, manipulative stalker that he is, but for the ‘love’ he had for Beck. For the longing and belief that they were meant to be together. I almost hoped that it would strangely work out in the end.

You is on the cusp of being a Thriller, and definitely not a Contemporary Romance. I didn’t have a difficult time reading this book, but I did expect a little more action. However, the way Joe carried out his ‘crimes’ were purely psychological by way of using the digital age to stalk and control the situation. So overall, this book is definitely a psychological thriller. And it creeped me out.

I will give a fair warning and let you know that this book does get violent, is very vulgar, and has moments where it gets pretty risqué. If you really don’t like reading anything that details anything of the sort, than just do yourself a favor and don’t even glance at this book.

This book is definitely not for everyone. You will either love it or hate it. I loved it for the POV and how it is so unlike anything I have really read before.

♥♥♥♥

 ** I would not suggest that anyone underage read this book as it contains mature adult content and would not be suitable for children/teens**

3 thoughts on “You by Caroline Kepnes

  1. Instead of reading this I listened to the audiobook and it really creeped me out! Listening to Joe is so different than reading him. Now Hidden Bodies just came out on audio and I’m listening to that. So good! I have a love/hate relationship with Joe for sure.

    Like

    1. I should definitely give the audiobook a try. And I am hoping to pick up a copy of Hidden Bodies tonight! So excited to read more Joe. Like you, I have a love/hate relationship for Joe. It is definitely a different kind of reading.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

