Book Reviews

Down The Rabbit Hole by Holly Madison

Down The Rabbit Hole

Down The Rabbit Hole

by Holly Madison

Publisher: Dey Street Books

Synopsis:
A former girlfriend of Hugh Hefner describes how her years inside the Playboy Mansion went from a fairytale of A-list celebrity parties to an oppressive regime of strict rules, scheduled sex, and a total loss of identity, so much so that she even contemplated suicide.

My Review:

Maybe I am a little biased since Holly was my FAVORITE of the Girls Next Door. It was my senior year and I would come home from school, get on the treadmill (I was very active back then), and put on the Girls Next Door. So, when I saw that Holly Madison wrote a book, I was ecstatic. I pre-ordered it the soonest I could and waited for it to be delivered on my doorstep.

I was at work when it arrived, but I knew it was coming. So I anticipated it being there when I got home. And it was. So I ripped open the box, sat down on the couch (I didn’t even change out of my work clothes), and started reading.

First off, the cover is adorable and is probably one of my favorites. The map of the mansion on the inside was done well and overall, the layout of the book was amazing.

“So follow me down the rabbit hold… the truth may be stranger than you imagine.”

Well, obviously the book wasn’t written by just her. But I am perfectly okay with that. Whether she wrote it or not, its the story everyone wanted to know. To read. To live through. And I think the author(s) nailed that.

The stories she told, (the ones she used) are the ones that probably meant the most to her, so there was never a dull moment. The details were clear and she painted each person in the way she wanted to (or so it seemed). At times you felt the emotions she felt. And, as much as I liked it, there were points where I thought she sounded like the victim because she chose to live that way and she could have left. But, at the same time, most of us have been stuck at some point in our lives (or in a rut) and sometimes you get comfortable. I don’t blame her!

“I won’t apologize for the choices I made, because all of them brought me to the wonderful place I am today. “

And she shouldn’t have to apologize. We all make choices we aren’t proud of, but that makes us who we are. She did exactly that. People could criticize her for what she was doing, but realistically, she was doing what she wanted and you can’t blame/shame someone for that.

“Just like Alice, Wonderland opened up my eyes and prepared me for my real life’s adventure.”

Down the Rabbit Hole told the story we all wanted to know. The life behind the man. The mansion. The other girls. I definitely recommend this book. (if you’ve always wondered or were a fan of the show)

♥♥♥♥♥

2 thoughts on “Down The Rabbit Hole by Holly Madison

Leave a Reply

